MATT FUCKING BARNES, LADIES AND GENTS!

TODAY I MET MATT BARNES! If you don’t know who he is, he’s an awesome photographer from Toronto that I have been following for a while now. His work is just crazy! See for yourself.

Let me tell you what happened!

I was helping out some classmates with their video assignment and I almost broke my neck when I saw Matt step into the Seneca office. Talk about coincidence? Then he was about to leave…. and I just had to say something. I had to tell George and Mareks to stop shooting for a bit as I jumped out of my seat to introduce myself to him and say hi. And then George took a picture from his phone. Bad quality. So dark. Low res, high luv!

The IDP Program Coordinator, Ray was so kind and understanding of my fan-girlness. I told myself to be cool, but I just said, fuck it! It’s MATT FUCKING BARNES!

After our short video shoot was done, I searched high and low through the halls of Seneca. I was getting tired and hungry, ate a hot dog, talked to Tiffany and Danny in the halls and told them I just met Matt and that I’m trying to find the classroom where he was guest speaking in. Tiffany told me to check the Kaleidoscope room and she was RIGHT! (Thanks Tiffany!)

I then make my way over to the Kaleidoscope room. I was trying to find a way to go but I didn’t want to disturb them, especially since I’m not even in the IDP program (Independent Digital Photography). Ray saw me again creepily waiting outside the classroom and he invited me to come inside. (Thank you Ray! You are too kind!) It was Q&A time and I asked him some like 2 questions (OBVI, I had like a gazillion more questions but my hyper level was just up the roof!)

I listened attentively, busted out my notebook and took some notes and now I’m writing this blog post. I’m so glad to see my fellow Canadians following their passion, hustling everyday, putting out great work and getting recognition and appreciation for their art. It’s so inspiring to see how humble, funny and honest Matt was with the class as he spoke about his photography and life experiences.

I really needed this today. Those little reminders that people like this do exist in the world today and to just keep pushing no matter what obstacles come my way. Even when I feel like giving up, I try my best not to. But I still have my bad days like everyone else.

Thank you Matt. You seriously made my day.

 

 

 

PS: God really loves me and I have been getting some kick ass good karma lately. *Good job Julia!

Leave a Reply

